The Library reference staff has combed the internet to find reliable resources on a variety of subjects. Browse the list or select a category on the right.

ART:

Ad* Access:
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955. From Duke University.

Artcyclopedia:
A database of artists pulled from museum sites, image archives and other online resources. Searchable by museum, artist name, or art movement.

ArtsJournal:
A digest of arts and cultural journalism in the English-speaking world. The site contains links to stories culled from more than 200 newspapers, magazines and publications featuring writing about arts and culture.

Digital Collection: New York Public Library:
Over 700,000 images from the New York Public Library's collection. Includes historical maps, illuminated manuscripts, vintage posters, prints, photographs and more.

Hellbrunn Timeline of Art History:
Created by the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Hellbrunn Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world. The Timeline is researched and written by the Metropolitan’s curators, conservators and educators, and it continues to expand in scope to reflect the latest scholarship.

BIOGRAPHIES:

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress 1774-Present:
Find biographical information on members of the U.S. Congress from 1774 to present.

Who2:
Who2 contains approximately 3,700 short biographies of famous people - both real and fictional.

BUSINESS/FINANCE:

Big Charts:  
BigCharts provides access to professional-level research tools such as interactive charts, quotes, industry analysis and intraday stock screeners, as well as market news and commentary.

Business A-Z:
A glossary of more than 1,250 business terms from the Washington Post.

CalGold Business Permits Made Simple:
“To assist you in finding the appropriate permitting information for your business, the CalGOLD database provides links and contact information that direct you to agencies that administer and issue business permits, licenses and registration requirements from all levels of government.”

Charity Navigator:
An independent charity evaluation website, designed to help you learn about the charities you’re interested in donating to. Charity Navigator displays revenue and income statistics, number of employees, the mission statement, and salaries of executive heads for many different charities.

Consumer Guides and Protection:
A-Z resources of consumer guides provided by the U.S. government.

SBA.gov (U.S. Small Business Administration):
This is the “official website for the U.S. Small Business Administration, dedicated to providing support to small businesses across the nation.”

Yahoo Finance:
Get up-to-date finance information on stocks, markets, investing and more from Yahoo Finance.

Better Business Bureau:
Use this database to find information on a business or charity or to file a complaint against a business.

CAREER/EDUCATION:

Jobs.CA.gov:
Official site for finding and applying for employment with the State of California.

Idealist:
Searchable database of nonprofit jobs, internships, organizations and volunteer opportunities worldwide.

Indeed:
Searches millions of websites, job board, newspapers, blogs, company pages, and associations to find job postings. Searches can be saved and job seekers can signup for customized daily email alerts.

Khan Academy:
A video collection of over 2,000 practice exercises and assessments in areas such as math, biology, chemistry, SAT preparation, and more.

Occupational Outlook Handbook:
Information on hundreds of different types of jobs including education and skills needed; earnings; working conditions; and job descriptions.

Peterson’s:
A guide to finding information on the best colleges and graduate programs.

Private School Review:
A directory of private elementary day schools and high schools.

Quintessential Careers
Large collection of career and employment resources.

Riley Guide:
Career and employment resources, including guides to writing resumes and cover letters, interview tips, and links to job sites.

TED Talks:
The tagline for the non-profit organization TED (technology, entertainment, design), a non-profit organization, reads: “ideas worth spreading.” As a free site, Ted records and archives expert speakers from all over the world on a variety of subjects. The site is constantly updated and maintains high-quality recordings.

USAJOBS:
Official site for finding and applying to Federal jobs.

CONSUMER:

Cars.com: 
Source for information about cars, including pricing, reviews, ad, and comparisons.

Edmunds: 
Source for information about car models, including comparisons, reviews, and sale ads.

Kelly Blue Book: 
Source for information about cars, including pricing, reviews, ad, and comparisons.

SaferCar.gov 
Official list of car recalls, maintained by the National Transportation Safety Administration.

USDA - Food Safety and Inspection Service: 
Official government site for food safety alert and recalls.

World Privacy Forum: 
Guides for how to 'opt-out' of marketing and solicitation lists. Going far beyond the 'Do Not Call' registry, this guide explains the process and provides all the needed details. Created and maintained by the World Privacy Forum, a non-profit public interest research group.

COOKING:

Allrecipes 
allrecipes contains rated recipes, menu planning, tools and tips for cooks of all levels. 

Epicurious:
Get the Recipe of the Day, Most Popular Dishes, new "Healthy Recipe" choices including recipes from Bon Appetit and Gourmet Magazines.

USDA Nutrient Data Laboratory:
Use this site to look up the nutritional content of over 6000 foods.

DICTIONARIES:

Business A-Z
A glossary of more than 1,250 business terms from the Washington Post.

Dictionary.com:
Find accurate definitions and audio pronunciations of words.

Merriam-Webster Visual dictionary online:   
A dictionary that uses images to define words. Words are sorted into themes; by clicking on images you can find words and definitions.

Nolo's Legal Dictionary:
Legal definitions in plain-English from A-Z.

eBOOKS

Inkmesh:
A search engine specifically scouring the internet for eBooks. Covers Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Powells, Sony eBook as well as sites for free eBooks like Project Gutenberg and the Internet Archive.

Project Gutenberg:
Offers free ebook downloads for a number of classic works of literature that are now in the public domain. These titles can be downloaded to your computer, Kindle, iPad, Android, and more.

ELECTION INFORMATION:

California Secretary of State Elections and Voter Information
Voter registration information, voting systems, ballot measures, election results, and more.

The California Voter Foundation
A non-profit, bipartisan organization providing resources for voters including election information, maps, general government information, and the very interesting "Campaign Promises Database."

Easy Voter Guide
Non-partisan guide with information in English, Spanish, Vietnamese, Korean and Chinese.

Smart Voter
Current ballot and polling places for Marin County.

Superdelegates
Information on which candidate superdelegates support, sortable by factors including state, superdelegates' position and/or gender.

GEOGRAPHY:

BBC News Country Profiles:
Profiles provide a guide to the history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, plus background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.

CIA – World Fact Book:
Find facts about the geography, history, economy, people, military, and transportation of 266 different countries. This site also contains maps of major regions, flags of the world, and a Standard Time Zone of the World map as well as other helpful resources.

Country Studies:
Description and analysis of 101 countries, including historical setting, geography, political system and economy. Created and maintained by the Library of Congress.

National Atlas:
A large collection of accurate and reliable American maps with a wealth of geospatial and geostatistical information. It also contains an online map maker.

Perry-Castaneda Library Maps:
A collection of public domain maps provided by the University of Texas.

World Desk Reference:
Users can select from an A-Z country list and find comprehensive data for nations around the world. Data includes information about people, economics, crime, education, health, resources, spending and more. This resource also includes maps, charts, diagrams and illustrations.

GOVERNMENT:

American Fact Finder:
Statistical information on population, housing, income, and geographic data.

California Legislative System: 
Includes acces to California Law and a “legislator lookup” to help you find your legislator by zip code. Up to date info.

Congressional Directory:
The official directory of the US Congress. Includes short biography of all House and Senate members, as well as lists all officials of the courts, military establishments and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.

FEDSTATS:
Provides access to national statistics from the U.S. Federal Government in areas such as education, health, crime, and more.

GPO Access:
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides a wealth of information produced by the Federal Government.

Search.USA.gov
Use this site to find almost any federal form you may need including tax forms, small business forms, and social security forms.

USA.gov:
A portal for finding U.S. local, state, and federal government information and services on the web.

GREEN LIVING:

National Geographic’s Green Guide:
From the reputable National Geographic magazine, this site offers tips and information on a variety of topics related to environmentally-friendly living, including green buying guides. (Click “continue to site” on pop-up that appears.)

HEALTH:

Center for Disease Control and Prevention:
The U.S. Government-maintained health website provides information on diseases, injuries, emergency preparedness, vaccines, travel immunizations, and more.

Center for Disease Control:
Provides detailed information and resources on a wide range of broad health topics, such as cancer, West Nile Virus, emergency preparedness, as well individual diseases.

Healthy People:
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Created and maintained by the Department of Health and Human Services, it provides reports and recommendations about current topics in health, for example genomics, food safety and heart disease.

Mayo Clinic:
The Mayo Clinic’s Health Information pages feature a symptom checker, and A to Z guides to diseases and conditions, drugs and supplements, and tests and procedures.

Medline Plus:
Trusted and reliable health website compiled by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

Merck Manual:
Online version of the Merck Manual of Diagnois and Therapy.

Yellow Book from the Center for Disease Control:
Information from the Center for Disease Control about the health risks international travelers may face and how travelers can protect themselves.

HISTORY/GENEALOGY:

American Memory:
Great resource for finding primary sources on American history. Maintained by the Library of Congress.

Best of History Web Sites:
“Best of History Web Sites is an award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more.”

California Historical Society:
Over 400 images from the California Historical Society, including photography, fine art, and articles.

Calisphere:
Over 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history. From the University of California. Designed primarily for classroom teachers, but useful for anyone doing historical research.

Chronicling America (Historic American Newspapers):
Find information on American newspapers published from 1690-present and search select digitized newspapers from 1860-1922.

HyperHistory Online:
3,000 years of history including timelines, maps, lifelines.

IPL2 Collection of Genealogy Resources:
This is a collection of 46 genealogy resources from IPL2, a highly respected website of reputable research sources.

LANGUAGE/TRAVEL:

Digital Dialects:
Features games and quizzes for learning phrases, numbers, useful words, spelling, verb conjugation and alphabets in over 60 languages, including Tibetan, Spanish, Africans, and French. Includes audio files for perfecting pronunciation.

Fodor’s:
Learn about travel destinations and garner travel tips from this online version of Fodor’s

Frommer’s:
Find online travel guides, travel tips and tools, trip ideas, and trip recommendations.

Language Guide:
An interactive vocabulary guide to eleven languages, including English, Russian, Mandarin, and Spanish. Uses easily identifiable images of common objects, verbs, and expressions. Users can hear the pronunciation of specific words by placing their cursor on the images.

The Lonely Planet:
Travel tips and articles on destinations from around globe.

Travel.State.Gov:
This U.S. Department of State site provides travel alerts and warnings, as well as country-specific information for every nation in the world. Visitors will find country descriptions, U.S. embassy locations, entry/exit requirements for U.S. citizens, health and safety information and more.

Yellow Book from the Center for Disease Control:
Information from the Center for Disease Control about the health risks international travelers may face and how travelers can protect themselves.

LITERATURE:

California Libraries Catalog:
Catalog of all public libraries in California. Most books found in this catalog can be requestion via Interlibrary Loan. Call the Reference Desk for details: 415-389-4292.

Poets.Org:
Maintained by the Academy of American poets, this reputable site offers information on American poets and their poems, as well as links to additional resources.

The Poetry Foundation:
The Poetry Foundation is an independent literary organization whose site offers full-text poems, brief biographies and audio recordings of poems.

Ubu Web:
An extensive and ever growing collection of avant-garde poetry, literature, music, film, and visual art.

LOCAL RESOURCES:

511:
A phone and web source for real-time Bay Area traffic, transit, rideshare, and bicycling information. Available by phone at 511, as well as online.

County of Marin:
Official guide to county communities, government services, and officials.

Marin County Bar Association:
Offers many free community resources, such as the Lawyer Referral Service which connects the public with lawyers with the appropriate legal representation.

Marin County Community Resources:
Local Marin County organizations and businesses list their events and programs. Find health programs, counseling, senior services, vital records and more.

Marin Health and Human Services:
Use this site to apply for a variety of social services, or to get a copy of a recent birth or death certificate, or to find information on a variety of other topics.

Mill Valley Historical Society:
A website dedicated to educating users on the history of Mill Valley.

City of Mill Valley:
Aimed at Mill Valley residents and visitors alike, this site features city data, maps, and information about local services, history, recreational activities and more.

Volunteer Marin:
Find volunteer opportunities in Marin.

Schools in Marin:
A directory of Marin schools with links to contact information and school websites.

MUSIC:

Audio Archive from the Internet Archive:
Over two hundred thousand free digital recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download.

International Music Score Library Project:
A database of over 41,000 copyright-free music scores, all downloadable.

Musicals 101:
Comprehensive information about the current state and history of the Broadway musical, on stage and in film and television. Written and maintained by John Kenrick, author of "Musical Theatre: A History" (Continuum, 2008) and a professor at New York University.

Pandora:
Free online radio. Users list specific artists or song and Pandora plays similar music, creating a personalized "radio station."

MOVIES:

IMDB [Internet Music Database]:
An authoritative source for information about movie, TV and celebrities. Includes showtimes, trailers, reviews, photos, descriptions for more than 1.8 million movie and TV programs and 4 million cast and crew members.

Movie Archive:
Contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

POLITICS:

FactCheck:
Maintained by the Annenberg Public Policy Center, FactCheck is a non-partisan non-profit site that checks and reports on the factual accuracy of politics in the media.

Pew Research Center:
A non-profit, non-partisan organization that studies politics, public policy and the press. The Pew Research Center conducts a lot of its own independent research.

SCIENCE:

National Geographic:
Though it needs no introduction, National Geographic is an excellent site for history, science, photography, anthropology and more.

Pew Center on Global Climate Change:
Non-profit, non-partisan independent organization .Provides information on and analysis of current climate issues. The Center also provides overviews of policies, initiatives and research on a national and worldwide level.

Science.gov:
A portal to government science and research. This database provides a search of over 45 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information.

WebElements:
An interactive periodic table that gives concise descriptions of chemical elements including their uses.

SPORTS:

Sports Reference:
A collection of websites for statistics and information on a number of different sports. Designed to be “the easiest to use, fastest, most complete sources for sports statistics anywhere”

TAX INFORMATION:

State Forms and Publications:
Get forms and publications for current and prior years, and find quick links for personal income tax questions like extensions, eFile, and online payments.

Federal Forms and Instructions:
Get Federal forms and instructions plus Adobe Reader forms you can fill-in using your computer.